Top Nav

College Presidents Paying for Scholarship

Two higher education leaders who set the standard for community college and university collaboration have taken another significant step to support student success.

Northern Arizona University President John Haeger and Coconino Community College President Leah Bornstein have introduced the CCC2NAU President’s Scholarship, a fund that will support students who attend both institutions on their path to earn a bachelor’s degree.

“The partnership between Northern Arizona University and Coconino Community College has proved that universities and community colleges do not have to see themselves as competitors,” Haeger said. “We are focusing on student success at all levels. This scholarship affirms Dr. Bornstein’s and my belief it is paramount to focus on getting students to the finish line of their degree path.”

Each president has pledged a personal investment of $20,000 toward the endowed scholarship that will support its first student at CCC this fall. The goal is to increase the endowment with matching donations from future leaders of both institutions.

“The scholarship and the CCC2NAU program are about ensuring student success, and the collaboration of our two institutions is making that a reality,” Bornstein said. “By working together we are better guiding students toward completion. Ultimately, our success is their success.”

The award-winning CCC2NAU program began with 15 students in 2008, establishing a joint admission process to ease the transition from community college to university enrollment. The program welcomed 219 new students last fall, and more than 700 students have participated in the program since its inception.

CCC2NAU also served as the model for additional 2NAU partnerships with 16 community colleges that currently serve 1,900 students throughout Arizona.

The CCC2NAU program recently received the 2012 Outstanding Institutional Advising Program Award from the National Academic Advising Association, and 2NAU programs earned an innovative degree pathway award from the Arizona College Access Network.

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Website Design by DRCMedia LLC