Top Nav

FMC’s Physician of the Year

Mark Donnelly, M.D., F.A.C.S., has been named Flagstaff Medical Center’s 2012 Physician of the Year. Dr. Donnelly will receive FMC’s 19th annual Healing Excellence and Leadership (HEAL) award at a ceremony on Friday, March 30, as part of FMC’s celebration of National Doctors’ Day.

Each year, FMC presents the HEAL award to a physician on its active staff who exemplifies the mission, vision and values of FMC by working in partnership with the hospital to provide excellent healthcare services to patients and the community. This year, 45 physicians were nominated for the award by FMC staff, physicians, volunteers and board members.

In nomination forms, Dr. Donnelly was recognized for his clinical and surgical expertise as well as his willingness to assist his colleagues, going above and beyond expectations. In addition to his surgical skills, he is respected for his intuitive insight related to surgical complications associated with traumatic injuries and life-threatening vascular conditions. Physicians, nurses and patient care staff praise Dr. Donnelly for his dedication to patients. Throughout his years at FMC, Dr. Donnelly has received countless letters from patients and family members thanking him for his excellent care and compassion. He also is known for his extensive community involvement.

Dr. Donnelly specializes in vascular, general and trauma surgery. He has been a member of the FMC medical staff since 1989. He is a member of the trauma team at FMC and is the medical director of vascular diseases at the Heart & Vascular Center of Northern Arizona, an affiliation of FMC. In addition to his surgical expertise, Dr. Donnelly has served in several medical leadership roles at FMC including chief of surgery, medical staff president and as a member of the FMC Board of Directors.

Dr. Donnelly earned his medical degree at the University of Texas, Galveston in 1983. He completed his internship and residency at New York Medical College, Valhalla. Dr. Donnelly completed a fellowship in vascular surgery at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Memphis, Tenn. He is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

“It is an extreme honor to have been selected to receive this award and be among such a group of esteemed physicians,” Dr. Donnelly said. “I have the greatest respect for my colleagues at Flagstaff Medical Center and am fortunate to be part of such an outstanding healthcare team, from physicians, nurses and technicians to the amazing support staff.”

Previous HEAL recipients include Andrew Aldridge, M.D; Tamara Johnson-Baack, M.D.; Alice Berger, M.D.; Jeffrey Christenson, M.D.; Edgar Clark, M.D.; John Durham, M.D.; Theodore Lewis, M.D.; Cindy Martin, M.D.; Jerry Mohr, M.D.; John Mougin, M.D.; Richard Neff, M.D.; Brad Noblett, M.D.; Mark Peterson, D.O.; Stephen Ritland, M.D.; Kenneth Salce, M.D.; Harnath Singh, M.D.; John Steenbarger, M.D.; and Dan Wesche, M.D.

For more information about FMC programs and services, or to find a physician, visit FlagstaffMedicalCenter.com.

, , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Website Design by DRCMedia LLC